2014 Book Challenge?

Apparently there is a group that challenges you to read 50 books in an year. I wondered where I would rate on this challenge. It’s August and I’ve already got 31 under my belt [not including all the Ms. Marvels and various children’s books; and, honestly, some of these should count as more than one book (I’m looking at you, Gabaldon)]. Not bad considering I have a full time job [at work] followed by my other full time job [two kids]. My neighbor was telling me about a book she had and said, “oh yeah, you’re a Reader, you may already know about this.” I was flattered and it’s true. Reader with a capital “R”!

  1. Seconds- O’Malley, Bryan Lee
  2. Habibi – Thompson, Craig
  3. Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (Outlander, #8) – Gabaldon, Diana
  4. My Accidental Jihad – Bremer, Krista
  5. Wool – Howey, Hugh
  6. The Yiddish Policemen’s Union – Chabon, Michael
  7. The Thing Around Your Neck – Adichie, Chimamanda Ngozi
  8. Autobiography – Morrissey
  9. Ice Haven – Clowes, Daniel
  10. Divergent (Divergent, #1) – Roth, Veronica
  11. Turn Around Bright Eyes: The Rituals of Love & Karaoke – Sheffield, Rob
  12. I Was Told There’d Be Cake – Crosley, Sloane
  13. The Forbidden Rose (Spymasters, #1) – Bourne, Joanna
  14. The Interestings – Wolitzer, Meg
  15. The Pillars of the Earth (The Pillars of the Earth, #1) – Follett, Ken
  16. The Proposition – Ivory, Judith
  17. The Orphan Master’s Son – Johnson, Adam
  18. All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy, #1) – McCarthy, Cormac
  19. Room – Donoghue, Emma
  20. Shards of Honour (Vorkosigan Saga, #1) – Bujold, Lois McMaster
  21. The Divorce Papers – Rieger, Susan
  22. Winter’s Bone – Woodrell, Daniel
  23. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore – Sloan, Robin
  24. The Brick Testament: Stories from the Book of Genesis – Smith, Brendan Powell
  25. Orange Is the New Black – Kerman, Piper
  26. Alif the Unseen – Wilson, G. Willow
  27. The Wise Man’s Fear (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2) – Rothfuss, Patrick
  28. Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption – Hillenbrand, Laura
  29. The Fault in Our Stars – Green, John
  30. The Prophet – Gibran, Khalil
  31. The Shining Girls – Beukes, Lauren
2 responses to “2014 Book Challenge?

  1. I’ve read one of these and by read I mean listened to the audio book on my commute.

  2. what! which one? maj. pettigrew is not on this list…

Leave a Reply

