Mommy, will you read me a story?

wondermark, stop spying on us and recording our lives in comic form!

click bibliophibians to embiggen

From my great-grandfather on down, I come from a long line of bibliophibians.  Growing up, I frequented the local library and then, when I had my own cash, the bookstores – well, bookstore singular; I don’t recall there being more than one at the Green Tree Mall.  It seems my genetically-encoded reading tendencies have been passed along to the next generation.  ZP can already read (small words and big) and AP is well on her way (at least when she pretends to read, she has the cadence down pat).  We’ve already graciously donated several shelves on the various bookcases around the house to their books.  Some books are hand-me-downs from their cousins and faux-cousins.  Some can be read in the bath.  Some were gifts by people who know us and our tastes well and carefully choose books with more thought behind the selection than “this is in the kid’s section so it should be good”.  We’ve got scads of classics already and our libraries have a fair share of decent books too but lately, I’ve begun coveting “indie” children’s books.  Here is a sample of books on my wishlist … you know, for the kids:

4 responses to “Mommy, will you read me a story?

  1. I’s embiggening and embiggening an’ yet it’s so li’l as to be smalled.

    Love,
    Pogo

    p.s. I’m changing my name to the Typographical Terror.

  2. fixed!

    so which is it: pogo or tt?

  3. Maggie and I were picking out a birthday present for a cousin who’s turning three, and she was trying to remember what she’d gotten for her third birthday. I said, “Well, you got a tricycle…,” and she immediately jumped in with “And the Stinky Cheese Man book!” So, yeah, you guys picked a winner with that one!

    Although now that her imagination has kicked into high gear, some of the stories have to be read with her hands over her ears. You know, ’cause they’re less scary that way. Just like TV that’s a little intense is OK if you watch it over your shoulder from the doorway–I’m pretty sure I never watched the flying monkey scene in the Wizard of Oz from the actual TV room until I was at least 30. (Although we’ve had to shelve at least one Thomas DVD “because Elizabeth is rude.” If the kid can’t watch a show because a truck is a little bit snooty, we may have a problem on our hands!)

    One of Maggie’s favorites, though, is the Skippyjon Jones series, mainly because the language is fun and catchy (and Skippyjon is such an imaginative little scamp!). When she was two, she could recite the whole “muchas gracias, skippy dippy dango–bye bobble-ito, boogie woogie tango” song. Of course, she could also do a fair portion of Jabberwocky and the Lobster Quadrille, so she clearly has an ear for nonsense.

    Oh, and the cartoon captures perfectly one of my arguments against owning a Kindle. My parents never once told me I couldn’t read something on their bookshelves, which led me to read some really interesting things–often at inappropriately early ages. But I guess if you check something out of the library, it’s not there for the kids to find on a rainy day either…

  4. dude, any time you feel like guest posting, please do.

Leave a Reply

