Two Word Reviews

As Yaser reminds me, we are about half way through this year and my movie/tv show rentals are dismal.  I don’t believe I saw a single movie in the theaters at all this year (I only barely squeezed two in before the end of last year).  Still not sure what all this talk of Avatar and Twilight is about.  Or who exactly Justin Bieber is.  Anyway, with limited selections and even more limited time, I present to you this two word review (with stars!):

That Mitchell and Webb Look – Mr. UKShow *****

Gran Torino – totally unrealistic **

Tom & Jerry: Chuck Jones – sanity saver ***

Knowing Me Knowing You: Complete Series – AH HA! *****

RocknRolla – rollicking ride ****

Aziz Ansari: Intimate Moments – thread count *****

Mamma Mia! – catchy tunes **

I’m Alan Partridge: Series 1 – ridiculously awkward ****

Hamlet 2 – ridiculously ridiculous ***

The Mighty Boosh: Season 1– crazy pills ***

Fantastic Mr. Fox – typical quirkiness ***

The Princess and the Frog – mediocre meh  **

Dexter: Season 3 – terrifyingly gripping *****

Julie & Julia – julia rocked ***

Good Hair – utterly fascinating ****

In the Loop – highly recommend *****

Death at a Funeral – appallingly atrocious

Public Enemies – dead horse *

Inglourious Basterds – very tarantinoesque ***

The Limits of Control – gorgeous cinematography **

Californication: Season 2 – hilariously foul ***

The Guild: Ssn 1 & 2 – sweetly amusing ****

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs – surprisingly enjoyable ***

(stars range from five stars meaning “I wouldn’t mind owning it” to one star meaning “I wouldn’t mind owning it so that I could burn it.”)

3 responses to “Two Word Reviews

  1. that list doesn’t count as ‘dismal’!

  2. in my head it was! once i got it down on paper/screen, it didn’t turn out too badly after all, eh? man, i used to be a movie-watching FIEND in my younger days…

  3. update: ‘the lives of others’ – 7/8ths intriguing

Leave a Reply

