“No Good Can Come From Anything”

Hey kids!

Are you feeling hobbled by happiness? Stifled by serenity (no, not that one)? Choked by cheerfulness? Oppressed by optimism? Alarmed by alliteration?

Have I got a solution for you! Step right up and watch David Simon, a former reporter for the Baltimore Sun and the creator of The Wire, talk about how America doesn’t care about black people (redux! times a million! I mean, times 8.8 million!):

All worse?

Now, if you’re trying to get back to your happy place, might I suggest a donation to LEAP (Law Enforcement Against Prohibition), an organization that aims to educate the public about the high cost—in financial as well as human terms—of the failed “war on drugs,” or a treatment from Dr. Roti “Hawkeye” Paratha and his trusty sidekick, Nurse Nutella? (I recommend both.)

Oh, crap, I just called my health insurance provider and it turns out that Dr. Paratha isn’t in my network. I’m going to have to spend $2,000 out of pocket on parathas before I qualify for any reimbursements. That’s about 1,183 packages of parathas or 5,915 individual parathas. Does anyone out there have 591 and a half jars of nutella on hand?

Hat tip: Graxenheimerschnitzel the Third

5 responses to ““No Good Can Come From Anything”

  1. don’t have time to watch the whole hour’s worth of talking heads? then check out the frenetic, fast-paced, fabulous vid here!

    man, that was such a brutally intense but amazing show. kg’s mom, of all people, has the series b/c she used to work in b’more as a social worker back in the day and it’s like a walk down soul-crushing memory lane for her.

    also, if nurse nutella is ever out, you can always rely on lab technician dark chocolate dreams:

    http://ilovepeanutbutter.com/index.php/peanutbutter/peanut-butter/darkchocolatedreams.html

  2. I was looking for stuff to add to my Netflix queue (drat, Steve Coogan’s box set is not listed) and saw The Mighty Boosh. The pop-up bubble stated that it was
    “Recommended based on your interested in The Wire, Flight of the Conchords, and Monty Python’s Flying Circus.”

    The last two, I get. The Wire? Not sure how that worked its way in there. Is Netflix scanning our blog?

  3. Oh whoa, I didn’t even know there was such a thing as dark chocolate peanut butter in a jar. I want some.

    Can you believe I still have not seen The Wire? I feel like I have to take a sabbatical in order to watch it. Oh wait… my whole life is a sabbatical. Hmmm…

    Also, I just heard of The Mighty Boosh for the first time yesterday. Let me know how it is if you end up watching it.

  4. you must watch the wire.

    that is all

  5. Upyernoz, you’re right, but I’m concerned that once I have watched it, there’ll be no more reasons to live.

Leave a Reply

