Rings on her fingers and bells on her toes

Today I received my “your toddler this week” email and it included the following:

When you’re out and about, your toddler’s favorite pastime may be running away from you as fast as she can, squealing in delight as you rush to catch up.

Not only did the statement hit the nail on the head, it reminded me of my own toddler as an escaped convict days as related to me by my mother on many an occasion.  Apparently, whenever we’d go out shopping, the minute my mother released me, I would hit the ground running.  I’d dart down the grocery store aisle several aisles away from her or squirm into the metal clothing carousel to hide or hitch a ride to buy a one way ticket to naughtyville.  Clever mom, she decided to take matters into her own hands by adorning my shoes with little metal bells.  Thereafter, when I would hear my name being called and try to pull a Fugitive, she could hear the tiny bells shake away and would find me.  I never understood how she did it but I am grateful that I was not forced to don the most hideous childcare contraption ever conceived: the child harness (helmet optional).

6 responses to “Rings on her fingers and bells on her toes

  1. Where are you getting these “your toddler this week” emails?

    Also, I love that your mother treated you like a pet cat. It’s quite clever actually.

  2. emails courtesy of babycenter.com upon which i relied throughout each of my pregnancies and thereafter. i always recommend it to any expectant mother. and/or grandmother.

    uh oh, is dr. clo going to be fitted with a steampunked gps device as well?

  3. Dr. Clo has had one for years. She’s got a heart with her name and address on it, accompanied by a little bell. At three in the morning, I hear tinkle-tinkle-tinkle as she trots around the apartment with a bear wearing a tutu in her mouth.

  4. “as she trots around the apartment with a bear wearing a tutu in her mouth.”

    o.k. At first I wondered (mostly) why she was wearing a tutu in her mouth.

  5. Ah, yes, I should have said “tutu-wearing bear.”

    On the other hand, when she does it, she does look like her mouth is wearing a tutu. So there’s that.

  6. p.s. You have work to do.

Leave a Reply

