Schadenfreude

Once upon a time, I used to be a stereotypical lawyer: suit, briefcase, motions, yes-your-honor, no-your-honor, I-move-to-dismiss. Not a fan of the courthouse, I moved to corporate housing. My days were filled with contracts, fine print, and malaise. My boss was a good lawyer but a terrible manager. In the end, I left with somewhat ill will towards him and the job. Thankfully, I landed a job that suits me to a T … in that it does not involve suits. Or traditional hours. Or traditional research. Bottom line: I’m happier, more fulfilled, and all around better off now than I was – money aside, that is. The government do take a bite, don’t she?

Today, I ran into one of my old co-workers. After the initial ‘catch up on the last decade’ gup shup, the conversation turned to our past. I asked about our former boss. To my great surprise, I found out he rose in the ranks but then was unceremoniously dismissed not long after I left. INSTANT KARMA! Then I found out his wife divorced him and left with the children. Smile fading. Then I found out that he suffered from a mental breakdown and was institutionalized. Are you kidding me? That’s too much. If it’s true, it’s utterly tragic and now I feel bad. “Be thankful for what you have,” my colleague advised. No doubt. It’s not quite the phenomenal “how things change” WhatsApp story making the rounds today, but my perspective on the past has changed and I’m thankful fate took me where it did and that I can be in a position of pity rather than pain.

2 responses to “Schadenfreude

  1. that title don’t fit me thinks…

  2. oh, is that what you think?

Leave a Reply

